I’emari from USA: Making friends

As I was preparing my clothes for class and I reached for my cardigan. This was very normal for me. all of a sudden threw it back and told myself that I would be fine without it. Then it hit me that I was finally getting comfortable with the weather. When I first arrived, it was a bit chilly but not cold. Now it is a bit warm, but not really hot. The heat is rather different being that the coolness comes from the water. Also, it is not dry like I thought it would be. It is actually very comfortable. It was so comfortable that I had a surprise water fight with some of my friends on Sunday. I am still very shocked of the amount of friends that I have made here. This is not because I am not the kind of person to be talk, but because it was a different place but the more I think about it, the only reason why I felt that way is because this is the first time that I have traveled overseas. I have noticed that the biggest advantage of being here is that I interact with more than just Australians, but now when I say thank you, I may say “Merci Beaucoup” which is Thank you very much in French. When I greet on of my German friends I may even say, “Wie geht es lhnen” which means, how are you? These are just some of the things that have become and habit to my everyday life. Not to just learn knew languages, but to simply learn to experience, try, learn, and understand new things. Sometimes we have to take a leap of faith to reach understanding and that means to jump out of the box and into the new and even if we think that it may make us feel or look stupid. For example, some people will never change the style of their head because they put so much pride into their looks and they do not want to do anything that may risk them looking bad. Here, I’ve learned more in depth that it’s not what’s on the outside that truly makes you stand out, but it is what’s on the inside and sometimes we need to take a risk to see if we truly have what it takes to past the test that we put yourself through every morning; Beauty and attractiveness. Sometimes we should show the shine and glimmer of our character and not just our clothes, so I did just that. After shaving my head, I loved even more what I saw in the mirror: A young man learning more about life, the world, and most of all, himself.

I’emari

Leave a Reply

