Patty from Taiwan: A Berry Sweet Day

One of my most memorable experiences this year, happened when I visited a strawberry farm in Caboolture, QLD.

My friends Bill and Ann had earlier requested me to pay them a visit at their strawberry farm. The two own a massive strawberry farm in Caboolture which is about 30 mintes away or half way between the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane.

I must admit that at first, I did not know what to expect since I have never visited a strawberry farm before and I knew little about how strawberries are grown.

As soon as I arrived at the farm, I was blown away by the beauty and ambience of the farm.  The strawberry plantations were all well aligned in long and straight furrows that extensively stretched accross the acres of land.

Evidently, I could see that growing strawberries requires intensive labor. From a distance I could see several farm workers pruning and picking strawberries.  Bill and Ann were doing their regular rounds around the farm and so I able to join them.

 As we went around the farm, they were kind enough to explain to me how strawberries are grown, cultivated and harvested. I learnt so much from them and I gained so much insight about strawberries in general.

The highlight of my experience at the farm was marked by an afternoon session of picking and eating delicously sweet and fresh strawberries.

 

The weather was cool, the environment was so serene and so we strolled around the farm chatting while picking strawberries. The strawberries were tasty, juicy and mouth watering.  I ate a lot of strawberries and carried some for my flat mates and friends. 

Basically, my experience at the farm was exciting and breath-taking. I am looking forward to visiting Bill and Ann at the farm again.

Leave a Reply

