Laura in Remagen, Germany

From the moment I heard about the chance to study abroad I knew it was an opportunity I was not going to miss. It was a friend who put the idea of Germany into my head, as she had German family and was interested in going there herself. Once I began research on the country I was easily convinced that this was where I want to be. My original plan had actually been to begin in the summer semester in 2015 however, after speaking with Dr. Laurent Borgmann at an information session at my home university on the Sunshine Coast, Australia, I was quickly convinced to apply for the coming semester and in 2 days I handed in my application and to my delight was accepted a couple of weeks later. It didn’t take long for the excitement to build and after the long journey of 3 flights, totally 24 hours and stopovers in Hong Kong and Dubai; I arrived safely in Germany on the 23rd of August 2014.

Germany is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to in my entire life. For my whole first week I felt like I was on the setting of a movie. The buildings include so much detail and so many colours. There were endless amounts of rose bushes on the side-walks and dainty bouquets on window sills, rows upon rows of sunflowers and just endless streams of flourishing colours.

It was quite strange adjusting to driving on the right-hand side of the road. I feel like there is going to be a collision every time another car comes in the opposite direction and don’t even get me started on the roundabouts.

I’ve enjoyed filling my belly with the delicious German food, which I have noticed includes large amounts of meat and potato. Yum!

I was initially quite nervous about moving to a country where I did not speak the language, however, I have found that most people here can speak English and are always willing to help me whenever I need it.

I received a very warm welcoming at the RheinAhrCampus and have already made many new friends. I am so fortunate for this opportunity and so excited for what is ahead of me for the next six months.

By Laura Mcguire

Leave a Reply

