Olivia Studying at Niagara University

10 things I learnt quickly after arriving at Niagara University:

  1. I had finally made my dream come true and hadn’t been so excited and nervous at the same time
  2. I had never been so cold in all my life
  3. Niagara Falls and the Canadian border really are just down the road from campus.
  4. It is easy to forget you actually have to study and go to class
  5. Americans don’t really know what good coffee is (but, at 2am when you need to finish your assignment before class you will drink it )
  6. It is really easy to convince Americans that I take my pet kangaroo to University everyday while my pet koala sleeps at home.
  7. You will never be bored.
  8. You will never be hungry (but if you don’t have self control you will need to utilise the gym a little more than expected).
  9. You will meet people that you will never want to say goodbye to.
  10. Time really does fly when you are having fun.

I arrived at Niagara University in the middle of their winter and, while everything was so picturesque it was also so unimaginably cold. I was greeted at NU with a warm welcoming hug from the international office staff and already my nervousness subsided and I couldn’t wait to create amazing memories….right after I got over the jet lag.

During the first three days at NU I had already fallen in love with everything and everyone here that I knew one semester wouldn’t be enough so extended my trip for two semesters, and sometimes I feel like even that isn’t quite enough time. I have taken every opportunity that has been thrown my way and everything and everyone has been so amazing.

The list  of activities (which are mostly free) that NU provide is endless; sports games, festivals, music concerts just to name a few, all of which have free food and, have all become some of my most favourite memories.

I have made amazing friends whom I  have shared some amazing adventures with  since being in the USA; spring break in Arizona, road trips to Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Keuka Lake, Ohio, weekends away NYC, camping in the Adirondacks, college sports games, trips across the border to Canada, gorge walks, bonfires, fireworks,  being taken to typical American restaurants, and of course being shown the true American way of celebrating holidays (and yes many of times these holidays did involve drinking from red cups just like in the movies).

It sounds so cliche to say I had the time of my life and made life long friends but I really have. This adventure is coming to an end and has been the most memorable, and, by far my most favourite adventure of my life. I can agree with people when they say adventures are the way to learn and I would and strongly encourage anyone who is thinking of studying overseas and especially at NU to just go for it, I promise you will not regret it. Every moment has now become a memory I will never forget. Studying here has changed me in many ways and I can never express how grateful I am for this opportunity and how thankful I am for everyone who has been a part of it.

By Olivia Bryant

Leave a Reply

