Jacob studying at the University of Urbino in Italy

Hello there I’m Jacob Eather,

I’m 26 from Maleny on the Sunshine Coast and for the last month I have been studying at the Università degli Studi di Urbino “Carlo Bo” (University of Urbino) in Urbino, Italy. When first arriving in Urbino on the bus from Pesaro my breath was taken away from the sheer majesty of the city itself, an ancient medieval walled city nestled within the foothills of the Northern Apennines and the Tuscan-Romagnolo Apennines. The city of Urbino is as beautiful as it is ancient, old cobble streets pave the roads and the centre is always alive and buzzing with activity, though I must warn you to be prepared to be walking up a lot of steep streets. After one month of walking to classes and around town I felt that my legs had doubled in size from the sheer amount of uphill trekking I was doing. After being dropped off by the bus on the wrong side of the city and two hours of aimless wandering I managed to gain my bearings and find my way to the Collegio Tridente to be assigned my room. There are five collegio each with different kinds of rooms for students and travellers alike. Tridente being the main hub boasts the most room which are broken into groups of eight single rooms on each side with a shared bathroom for sixteen. For myself I opted for a double room in Collegio L’Aquilone which have their own ensuite and are out of the way from the hustle and bustle that is the Tridente. The rooms aren’t the best, but with a few homely touches one can find themselves well settled within a few days and with the town being only a ten minute walk from the collegio it is easy to find anything you need to make this happen. I felt very insecure about trying out my Italian at the beginning but my roommate who was from Sardinia helped me begin to integrate with his friends and the other students at the university and I found myself building a lot more confidence speaking Italian with them, even though I made plenty of mistakes. Come mid September the intensive language course for Italian commenced and I was introduced to all the other foreign students studying with ERASMUS which further relived my anxiety as we were all able to relate to each other due to us all being in the same situation of being in a foreign country and studying in a foreign language. Since then I have been enjoying myself immensely in Urbino as the city and it’s surroundings remind me very much of my home in Maleny back on the Sunshine Coast. Urbino is a little bit out of the way when it comes to venturing out to explore other cities, but with a short trip down to the seaside in Pesaro there are trains leading to countless cities and towns that are ripe for exploration for the curious mind. All in all my experience here in Urbino so far has been one of enjoyment and wonder and I am very much looking forward to the next few months of my time here.

Leave a Reply

