Penny from Sweden studying at USC

First year student studying full-time at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC), in Queensland, Australia.

I am almost done with my first year at USC where I am doing a Bachelor of Nutrition degree.  Moving to Australia was both terrifying and the best thing that could ever happen to me.

When I first arrived here I did not really know what to expect. The first person I met at my accommodation was my roommate who said I’d better look out for snakes in the trees! I seriously considered going home because I was so scared. But let me tell you, I have seen one snake and none of the big spiders they are blabbing on about back home.

Australians are the friendliest of people and an international student like me needed a little bit more help than others. Australians do love helping me.

I have made some amazing friends here that I call my family. And Oh, all the places you will go! There is never a boring moment here on the Sunshine Coast. Here, we actually walk on sunshine!
If you had told me over a year ago that I would leave everything I know and move by myself to the other side of the world, I would have thought you were crazy. But here I am. This year I have definitely learnt that you have no idea what is ahead of you and that you can do anything you set your mind to.

Sweden was my first bit of my life, Australia is my second. I am excited to see what my third life will be!

Cheers mate,

Penny!

Leave a Reply

