Thomas from Switzerland studying at USC

 

University of the Sunshine Coast, when I first heard the name I immediately fell in love with it and my choice was made. It is the perfect place for me to finish my studies, improving my English skills and discover the nature and culture of a beautiful country.

I am studying business on a bachelor level as a double degree in addition to my business engineer studies in Switzerland. Studying abroad has always been part of my study plan; the only question was where and how long. The opportunity to do a double degree, the modern campus, the big variety of modules, and apparently the location very close to the sea made my decision very easy and I could not be happier with my choice.

My main goal was to improve my English, especially the formal writing. Thanks to very helpful lecturers, other students and the Academic skills department, which supported me for all my reports and essays throughout the semesters, this goal was easy to achieve. Furthermore, you gain unpayable live experience by adapting to another culture, education system, economical system, and living style.

The campus has its special charm and the kangaroos, which are hopping around the campus, are only one reason. The different cafes are tempting to take a rest from studying in the comfortable library or at the numerous tables outside.

The best thing about studying at USC is the cultural exchange with other students from all over the world and of course the Australians. Especially the community of international students is very strong and you always find some friends to go to the beach, play volleyball or to have a party together.

Apart from Uni there are nearly endless possibilities to enjoy your life. I like to do day trips to National Parks, waterfalls, and beaches. In the Semester break, I visited several National parks, little towns, and enjoyed the flair of Sydney.

If you like sports, you are at the right place as well. Plenty of facilities, such as gym, swimming pool, athletic stadium and so on. With some friends, I could even represent the USC at the Snow Uni Games on Mt Buller, which is Australian wide Uni competition in snow sports. Apart from Uni sport, I act as a soccer referee at the Sunshine Coast, which provides me some insight on local sports and where I gained many new friends as well.

Thomas Nafzger, bachelor double degree in business from University of Applied Sciences Lucerne, Switzerland

Leave a Reply

