Stephanie in the USA

I was lucky enough to be accepted into Grand Valley State University. My time there will be one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The campus and the people were beyond any of my expectations and I found myself a place that I consider my second home. This photo was taken at the Allendale campus where I lived.

This photo of me was taken by a friend upon arrival at Times Square in New York. This was my ‘a-ha’ moment, that moment when you finally realise that you’re on the other side of the world, in one of the most famous cities in the world and something you once only dreamed about was actually  happening, right then and there. Being part of the Go Program gave me so many opportunities to travel and experience all the things that make America great. My road trip from Grand Rapids, Michigan to NYC was unforgettable.

This shows some of the members of my GVSU family. While studying abroad you make connections with people that are so unbelievably strong and they become your family, your life, while you’re overseas. Sometimes those ties remain even when you return home. I met so many wonderful people who contributed greatly to my happiness and made the journey something that was beyond my expectations. Events like University football games and watching the Ice Hockey, with these newly found friends, were among some of the highlights of my trip.

-Stephanie Anderson

Leave a Reply

